Service Titan Knowledge Base

Unsell sold estimatesLast updated on 03/31/2022

If a customer cancels a job and you don’t want the sold estimate to be included in sales reporting, you can unsell it. Or, if a customer wants to add more items to a sold estimate and you want that new revenue included in sales numbers, you can unsell the estimate, add the items to the estimate, and resell it.


Things to know

  • To unsell an estimate, you need the Sell/Unsell Estimate permission enabled for your account. Contact your account administrator for details.

  • When you unsell a sold estimate that has been signed, you create a new estimate and delete the original sold one. When you run sales reports, be aware that:

    • The creation date of the duplicate estimate is different from the creation date of the original estimate.

    • The Estimate Created By field of the duplicate estimate includes the name of the employee who created the duplicate, not the name of the original estimate creator.

  • If a job is booked off of a sold estimate, before you unsell the estimate, remove the sold estimate tasks from the job invoice.


Remove tasks from the job invoice

If a sold estimate is booked into a job, before you can unsell it, first remove the sold estimate items from the job:

  1. On the Project screen, find the job you want to remove items from and click the job number.

    Note: If you’re on the Estimate screen, in the Tasks section, click the job number to open the job.

  2. On the Job screen, click the invoice number to open it.

  3. In the Tasks section of the invoice, for all the items booked from the sold estimate, click Delete icon-close.png.

    A confirmation pop-up opens.

  4. Click OK.

    A pop-up opens asking, Will this work be done on another job?

  5. Click Yes.

    This unbooks the task on the sold estimate. Note: If you select No, the item is removed from the invoice but the item on the estimate cannot be booked into another job. Use this option to keep the estimate status as Sold for sales reporting purposes.

  6. When you’re finished deleting sold estimate tasks from the invoice, you can unsell the sold estimate if it’s unsigned or signed.


Unsell an unsigned sold estimate

If the sold estimate is booked into a job, make sure to remove sold estimate tasks from the job invoice before you unsell it.

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Follow Up.

  2. In the side menu, click Sold Estimates.

  3. Find the sold estimate you want to unsell and click it to open.

  4. Under the Opportunity field, click the Opportunity Number.

  5. For the estimate you want to unsell, next to the Status field, click unsell.

The estimate opens. The estimate status changes from Sold to Open.


Unsell a signed sold estimate

If the sold estimate is booked into a job, make sure to remove sold estimate tasks from the job invoice before you unsell it.

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Follow Up.

  2. In the side menu, click Sold Estimates.

  3. Find the sold estimate you want to unsell and click it to open it.

  4. Under the Opportunity field, click the Opportunity Number.

  5. For the estimate you want to unsell, click View Sold Estimate. The estimate opens.

  6. At the top of the estimate, click the Duplicate Duplicate icon icon.

  7. In the confirmation pop-up, click Yes.

    The duplicate estimate opens in Open status. Note: The duplicate estimate does not copy Sold by credit from the original estimate. You can reassign Sold by credit when you resell the estimate from the opportunity.

  8. Under the Invoice field, click Pending.

    The invoice opens with both the sold and duplicate estimates listed in the Estimates section.

  9. Click Delete icon-close.pngfor the sold estimate.

  10. In the confirmation pop-up, click OK.

    The sold estimate is removed from the invoice.

Note: The duplicate estimate is added to the same opportunity as the sold estimate.


Want to learn more?



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.