Cancel a work order

Prev Next

Overview

Cancelling a work order correctly is essential in order to ensure your reporting data and other records are accurate and up-to-date.


Who uses this feature

  • Dispatchers and CSRs

  • Applies to all business types

  • Applies to all trades

Things to know

  • You can't cancel any work orders with payments attached.

  • You can use the Canceled Job alert to track when work orders are created. For more information, see Use alerts.

  • When a technician is already dispatched to a work order that gets canceled the technician receives a notification saying: This work order has been canceled. You are no longer assigned to this work order.

  • You cannot Batch and export a cancelled work order's invoice.

Manage cancel reasons

Note: Only administrators can manage cancellation reasons.

Adding work order cancel reasons that accurately reflect why work orders are canceled in the context of your business is crucial to accurate reporting and record-keeping. Call reasons should be meaningful, specific, and easy to understand by everyone at your business.

  1. Go to the top toolbar and click Settings A simple icon representing a settings gear..

  2. In the side panel, go to Operations > Cancel and Hold Reasons.

  3. Add, edit, activate, or deactivate work order cancel reasons as needed.
    Work Order Cancel Reasons page lists active cancellation reasons with options to add, activate, deactivate, or edit.

    Note: If your account is configured for minimum spacing and a cancel reason is used for minimum spacing relationship on the Visit Template Relationships tab, you can't deactivate it. Work orders canceled because of a minimum spacing change use this reason.

Cancel a work order

  1. From the upcoming work order you would like to cancel, select Cancel from the Work Order Actions dropdown.
    Work Order Actions menu highlights the Cancel option alongside complete, hold, recall, and warranty actions.

  2. Select a cancellation reason from the dropdown and enter comments, if applicable.

  3. Click Apply to confirm the cancellation.

You can cancel a work order with invoice items, regardless of whether they came from a Sold estimate or not. This way, invoice items are automatically deleted and you don’t have to go to the Invoice section and delete them.

Options for handling invoice items when canceling a job with previous estimates.

View canceled work orders

View canceled work orders on the record for that customer or from the Canceled section of the Dispatch Board.

Table displaying canceled appointments with customer details and scheduled times.

FAQ


What should we do when we want to cancel a work order that has a payment which is refunded?

There are two options to resolve this:

  1. Work orders can't be canceled if they have payments on them, so you can complete the work order and mention in the work order notes that it was canceled.

  2. The refund needs to be reflected on another invoice:

    1. Create an adjustment invoice.

    2. Unapply the payment from the invoice that needs to be canceled and apply it to the adjustment invoice, then zero the payment out.

Why can't I cancel a work order when it says invoice contains payments?

Work orders cannot be canceled when invoices contain active payments or tasks. The system will show the error Work Order cannot be canceled while invoice contains any payments.

To resolve this, complete work orders instead of canceling them when invoices have payments. This fixes the cancellation error message.

How can I delete a work order in ServiceTitan?

You cannot directly delete a work order in ServiceTitan. However, you can cancel the work order and remove any invoice items on the work order invoice to keep your records accurate. If the work order was created over 365 days ago and can't be edited, please contact Technical Support for assistance.

Want to learn more?