Overview
If the CSR or dispatcher didn't capture all the relevant information when creating the work order, or additional information about the work order came to light after the work order was created, you can add that information to the work order by editing it.
Who uses this feature
Office Employees
Applies to all business types
Applies to all trades
Things to know
If you are editing a work order to convert it into a lead, but the work order doesn't show up when you search for it, it's likely that the work order has already been used as the recall on another work order.
When you update a work order’s business unit, it will automatically update the business unit for every PO attached to that work order.
If the work order's invoice is in a Posted status, you must first unpost the Batch as it has to return the invoice to a Pending status before you can edit the bill-to customer on the work order.
If the work order's invoice is in an Exported status, you can’t edit the bill-to customer on the work order.
Use cases
A customer calls in with a small issue that has escalated to a bigger problem. In this case, you want to change the priority level of the work order.
The work order is a lead but was accidentally created from the Work Order Booking screen. In this case, you can check the box to convert it into a lead.
After the work order was created, the customer called back, having remembered that the person who will be answering the door for the work order is a visiting friend and wanting to let you know that it was okay for the guest to do so. This is good information for the technician and should be added to the work order summary or notes.
A customer with multiple service locations on their account accidentally had the work order created for the wrong location. You can change the location of the work order for a customer with multiple locations.
Edit work order information
Open the work order and click Edit.

On the Edit Work Order screen that opens, make your changes.

When finished, click Save at the bottom of the screen.

FAQ
Can you add notes for a technician on an appointment?
Not at the appointment level, no. We recommend using the Add Summary option in the work order record. All technicians assigned to appointments on the work order can see the summary.
Can I add different work order summaries for different appointments on a work order?
While a work order can only have one summary, you can use the Special Instructions field when editing each appointment. Technicians can see special instructions in the mobile app.