--- title: "Why is a pricebook task automatically creating a membership when it's invoiced?" slug: "why-is-a-pricebook-task-automatically-creating-a-membership-when-it-s-invoiced" tags: ["Role - Admin", "Focus - Service Replacement", "Type - Residential", "Area - Memberships"] updated: 2026-10-16T01:17:08Z published: 2026-10-16T01:17:08Z canonical: "help.servicetitan.com/why-is-a-pricebook-task-automatically-creating-a-membership-when-it-s-invoiced" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.servicetitan.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Why is a pricebook task automatically creating a membership when it's invoiced? ## Problem A membership was automatically created when a pricebook task was invoiced. ## Solution To find out why this happens, check your settings for sale tasks. After that, decide how you want to resolve the issue. You can either delete the extra membership or cancel it. Whether you delete or cancel a membership is a matter of personal preference. Canceling it will keep the record on the customer profile, while deleting it will completely remove it from the system. ### Understand the issue Check the tasks added to the invoice. It might be set up to create a membership: 1. Go to the **Pricebook** tab. 2. Search the task that was added to the invoice. 3. Click the **Menu** ![A simple icon in the shape of three dots, lined up vertically.](https://cdn.document360.io/961862ab-d0f2-4d91-bb62-a62ee8184eff/Images/Documentation/icon-more-vert.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-09T11%3A35%3A18Z&se=2026-11-09T12%3A35%3A18Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=bbL4%2FfzjZA7bQvchsJUSoveuHtkq7EdQA5BPtdsXbsw%3D) of the task and select **View/Edit service**. 4. Go to the **Workflow** tab. 5. Check if the option **Create and activate membership plan** is selected. If it’s selected, this explains why the new membership was created: the item added to the invoice was a membership sale task. > [!NOTE] > **Note:** If another option is selected, contact [Technical Support](http://go.servicetitan.com/ask) for further assistance. 6. Change the workflow to **Do Nothing** if you don't want this task to sell or activate a membership in the future. ### Delete the extra membership Deleting the membership will remove it from the customer's profile. To delete the membership: 1. Go to the invoice where the membership sale task is added. 2. Delete the task from the invoice. This will automatically delete the newly created membership as well. ### Cancel the extra membership Canceling the membership does not remove it from the customer's profile. To cancel the membership: 1. Go to the newly created membership. 2. Edit the membership by clicking on the pencil icon. 3. Change the *status* of the membership to **Canceled**. ## Want to learn more? - See [How can I move a membership to a new customer profile?](/residential-s-r/docs/how-can-i-move-a-membership-to-a-new-customer-profile) A pricebook service item that activates a membership when added to an invoice. Every membership type needs a sale task to sell the membership. [Learn more →](https://help.servicetitan.com/docs/memberships-glossary) · [See the full glossary →](https://help.servicetitan.com/docs/glossary-overview)