Service Titan Knowledge Base

When is Single User Mode necessary - Recommended Workflow Last updated on 12/28/2021

This article explains how to know when Single User Mode is necessary in QuickBooks.


Things to know

  • There are certain actions in QuickBooks Desktop that require you to be in Single-User mode. If a ServiceTitan export is trying to perform one of those actions then you will get an error instructing you to switch to Single-User mode. 

    • Example - Updating a General Ledger Account on a Pricebook item in QuickBooks to match ServiceTitan

  • If a user is expected to export invoices/payments, then make sure that the user has full access to AR. If Bills, then AP. You can still restrict reporting capabilities if you want to reduce what the QuickBooks user can see in QB. Otherwise, you can designate one person to run the export that is an admin in QB.

    • Example: If you are trying to export an invoice but you have restricted access to view, create, or edit invoices then you will get an error saying that you have insufficient permissions to perform the action.


Workflows

Switch to Single Mode in QuickBooks Desktop

To switch to Single-User mode in QuickBooks Desktop:

  1. Have all users log out of QuickBooks except for you.

  2. Log in (if you are not already logged in).

  3. Go to File > Switch to Single-User.


Related Content



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.