Service Titan Knowledge Base

Appointments permissions: recommended workflowLast updated on 11/03/2021

This article helps you answer common questions regarding the new or changed Appointments permissions.


Things to know

  • Some existing permission names have been changed and some new permissions are now available with Appointments.

New employee permissions

  1. Create appointments on a job

  • The new employee permission is disabled by default.

  • The Create appointments on a job permission allows you to create new appointments, and without this permission you can still edit existing appointments.

Changed employee permissions

  • If employees already have original permissions, they automatically should have these permissions but with changed names:

    • Add Appointment has been changed to Add non-job event. Note: It has been renamed to avoid confusion as this permission relates to timesheets.

    • Edit Appointment has been changed to Edit non-job event. Note: It has been renamed to avoid confusion as this permission relates to timesheets.

New technician permissions

  1. Request an additional appointment for a job

    • Allows a technician to send a request to the office to create an additional appointment from the closeout screen.The alert appears on the right side of the Dispatch board and in the Job Tray.

    • You can also create an email and/or SMS alert in Settings > Alerts > Technician   Requests Additional Appointment.

  2. Lead technician actions

    • It gives a technician the ability to mark the entire appointment as Done even if there are other technicians currently assigned to that appointment. Without this permission a technician can only mark themselves as Done and can’t complete the entire appointment.

Existing technician permissions

  • If technicians already have the original permission, they should automatically have these permissions but with changed names

    • Done For Now Access has been changed to Pause on An Appointment. Note: It is a name change, that puts the appointment on pause, not the entire job.

    • Reschedule Job has been changed to Schedule additional appointments on a Job. This allows technicians to schedule additional appointments, rather than rescheduling the same job over and over.

    • Place Job On Hold — The name has not been changed. If you select it, it marks the appointment as Done, and creates a duplicate future appointment that puts it on Hold.

  • Technically a technician can have both Schedule additional appointments on a Job and Request an additional appointment for a Job permissions but in reality they should have either one or the other. It depends on a role, for example a sales technician or some lead installers that can manage their own install calendars can get the Schedule additional appointments on a Job permission while a service technician or standard installer can have only the Request an additional appointment for a Job permission.


Workflows

Change Permissions

To change permissions:

  1. In ServiceTitan, go to the navigation bar and click Settings.

  2. Select People > Technicians or Employees.

  3. Edit permissions individually. 

To edit permissions by role:

  1. In ServiceTitan, go to the navigation bar and click Settings.

  2. Select Operations > Permissions.


Related Content



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.