Service Titan Knowledge Base

A user keeps upgrading technicians to ManagedLast updated on 11/03/2021

This article will show how to prevent users from taking any action that could make a technician managed/unmanaged.


Problem

A technician is being upgraded to Managed and you either have no idea how it is happening or realize that it is happening due to certain actions taken by users.


Solution

How is the User Upgrading a Technician Managed

There are two ways to upgrade a technician to managed.

  1. Click edit on the technician profile in settings, and check the Managed Technician checkbox as shown below.

  2. Try to complete a job with only an unmanaged technician assigned. This will cause a pop up to occur that states “You cannot Complete this job until a Managed Technician on every open appointment has a timesheet entry. Please convert at least one of the following Technicians into a Managed Technician, or resolve the issue by fixing the assignments and timesheets”. Click the drop down and select the unmanaged technician that is assigned and clicks apply, that technician will become managed.


How to Prevent Users from taking above actions

  1. Go to settings → people → employees

  2. Find the user(s) that you want to prevent from being able to take actions that make a technician managed.

  3. Click edit and go to permissions at the top of the profile

  4. Find the permission called “Edit Employee” and remove that permission.

The user will no longer be able to make any action to make the technicians managed. When the drop down shows up on a job from trying to complete a job without a managed technician and the user tries to click on the unmanaged tech and apply, they will get an error message that they do not have permission to take that action.


Related Content



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.