Service Titan Knowledge Base

The Non-zero estimate item can't be added to the estimate from a job with an unmanaged technicians errorLast updated on 09/16/2022

This article helps you understand why you see the Non-zero estimate item can't be added to the estimate from a job with unmanaged technicians error when you add an item to the estimate.


Problem

The problem is that when you add an item in the estimate which acts as a discount, you get the Non-zero estimate item that can't be added to the estimate from a job with unmanaged technicians error.


Solution

This issue occurs because you update the sold by information in the Estimate screen > Update Estimate before adding tasks.

To solve the issue:


Make sure the job’s splits are assigned to a managed technician

  1. Open the job’s invoice and click Adjust Splits.

  2. Make sure that 100% of the job’s splits are assigned to managed technicians.


Update the technician who sold the estimate in the opportunity Follow Up screen

To update the technician who sold the estimate:

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Search.

  2. From the dropdown, select Estimate.

  3. Select the estimate which you want to update.

  4. Click View Opportunity.

  5. The Opportunity Follow-Up screen opens.

  6. Click Sold/Convert.

  7. From the dropdown, select the technician. Note: Make sure to select a managed technician who has splits on the job. For more information, see Managed technicians and non-managed technicians.


Add tasks before updating the estimate details

To add tasks:

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Search.

  2. From the dropdown, select Estimate.

  3. Select the estimate for which you want to add a task. The Estimate screen opens.

  4. Click Add a task. Note: For more information, see Add an estimate to an existing job and create a project.

It is recommended to add tasks, then update the estimates to avoid getting the Non-zero estimate item that can't be added to the estimate from the job with unmanaged technicians error. Note: If you have already added a sold by on the Opportunity page, this field is populated by the user who was assigned as a sold by.


Related Content



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.