Service Titan Knowledge Base

Location attached to wrong customerLast updated on 12/26/2021

This article will provide steps for troubleshooting when a location profile is attached to the wrong customer. Most often this issue can occur if a user has a customer record selected on the call booking screen without realizing it, and then they click the "+New" button to create a new, separate customer. When this happens, a new location is created instead under the existing customer record that was originally selected.


Problem

A location is attached to the incorrect customer profile. Most often this can happen if a user has an existing customer record selected on the Calls screen without realizing it. Then when they click the "+New" button to create a new, separate customer, a new location is created instead under the existing customer record that was originally selected.


Solution

Follow these workflow steps to troubleshoot the issue and move the location profile from the incorrect customer (Customer A) to the correct customer (Customer B):


Confirm whether the correct customer profile already exists

Use the Search page to confirm whether the correct customer profile that the location should be assigned to already exists. If the correct customer profile doesn’t exist in your account yet, create the customer (Customer B) on the Calls screen.

To confirm whether the customer profile exists:

  1. In ServiceTitan, navigate to the Search page via the magnifying glass icon in the upper right corner.

  2. Select Customer in the dropdown, and enter the customer name in the Name field. You can also use the Street, Phone, or Email fields if you don’t remember the name.

  3. Run the search by clicking the green magnifying glass button.

    If the customer doesn’t exist yet, move on to the next steps. If the customer already exists, move on to the Change location’s assigned customer profile section.

To create the new correct customer profile (Customer B):

  1. Navigate to the Calls page.

  2. In a Manual Call bubble, click on +New customer in the Search for customer section. Note: Make sure that an existing customer profile is NOT already selected in the Search for customer section.

  3. Enter all of the customer’s information and select The customer is the same as the tenant under Who will pay for the job?

  4. Click Save to create the new customer profile.

Once the customer profile is created, move on to the Change location’s assigned customer profile section.


Change the location’s assigned customer profile

Once the correct customer profile (Customer B) exists, you can move the location from the incorrect customer profile (Customer A) over to the correct one (Customer B).

To move the location to the correct customer:

  1. Navigate back to the incorrect customer profile (Customer A). 

  2. Scroll down to the Locations section and click into the location profile that needs to be moved.

  3. Click the edit pencil icon at the top of the location profile. Note: Check the tags to make sure you’re on the right page. Location profiles will always have a Location tag in blue.

  4. On the Edit Location page, click into the Customer field.

  5. Delete the incorrect customer name and type in the correct customer name (Customer B’s name). 

    Note: Don’t forget to click on the correct customer name and address from the dropdown menu that appears after you start typing in the name, or else the Customer field will not save.

  6. Save changes.

Move on to the Merge locations section if you need to merge duplicate locations.


Merge locations

Whenever you create a new customer record, ServiceTitan will automatically create a location for that customer as well. Once the location is moved over to the correct customer, you'll notice there are now two duplicate locations listed on this customer. To resolve this, you can merge those two locations together in the ServiceTitan Settings.

To merge locations:

  1. Navigate to ServiceTitan Settings by clicking the gear icon in the upper right corner.

  2. Go to Tools > Merge Locations, and enter the location’s name or address in the box.

  3. Select the location that you want the duplicate location to be merged into.

  4. In the Which duplicates do you want to merge into the above location? box, select the duplicate location that should be merged.

  5. Click Merge to perform the merge.

    Move on to the Change Bill To on existing jobs section if needed.


Change Bill To on existing jobs

If there are any existing jobs booked under the location that have NOT been exported yet, you can change the Bill To on those jobs to the correct customer record (Customer B).

To change the Bill To on jobs:

  1. Navigate to the job in question.

  2. Click the edit pencil in the upper right corner. Note: Make sure you are on the job page and NOT the customer or location page before clicking the edit pencil.

  3. On the Edit Job page, click into the Customer field and delete the old customer name.

    Note: Don’t forget to click on the correct customer name and address from the dropdown menu that appears after you start typing in the name, or else the Customer field will not save.

  4. Save changes.


Related Content



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.