Service Titan Knowledge Base

QB Error "This list is in use by another user. Try again later." - Problem/SolutionLast updated on 01/11/2022

This article explains the steps to resolve the QuickBooks Error "This list is in use by another user. Try again later."


Problem

QuickBooks does not allow for two people to be editing the same type of information at the same time. When this happens, you will receive the error “this list is in use by another user. Try again later.”


Solution

Confirm that you are the only QuickBooks user

In order to resolve this error, you will need to:

  1. In QuickBooks, determine who is logged in to your ServiceTitan Web Connector. 

  2. In QuickBooks Desktop:

    1. On the top menu bar, go to the Company menu.

    2. Select Set Up Users and Passwords.

    3.  User List window will come up.

    4. On this window, you will see the list of users. You will know who is currently logged on as there is a ‘logged on’ status right next to the username.

    5. When you have determined who the other user or users are, you will need to have them confirm that all windows are closed within QuickBooks and that they are no longer logged in to QBD. 

    6. Switch to Single User Mode

    7. To switch to Single User Mode click File > Switch to Single-user Mode.

  3. In QuickBooks Online:

    1. Launch QuickBooks Messenger (Company menu > Chat with a Coworker).

    2. From the Actions drop-down, select Close Company File for Users.

    3. Select the user whose QuickBooks you want to close.

    4. Select Close Company File.

    5. In the Confirmation window, select Yes.

      1. Note* there is no Single-user Mode in QBO so these steps are sufficient. 

  4. When you have established that you are the only User currently using your Web Connector, go to the Accounting Page in ServiceTitan > pull up the Batch with the error > Right Click + Reload anywhere on the screen to hard refresh the page > export the Batch.


Related Content



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.