Service Titan Knowledge Base

Manage tasks and subtasksLast updated on 07/13/2022

Learn how to add tasks, add subtasks, edit existing tasks or subtasks, close out tasks and subtasks, and export them for your records.


Things to know

  • The priority level for a task is set to normal by default. Most tasks should stay at that priority level. If you overuse high and urgent, you won’t be able to tell which tasks actually need to take priority over others.

  • Use the comments section of a task or subtask while escalating it for approval, to add an update, to contribute supporting information, or provide additional context around the resolution.

  • When closing a task that has subtasks, be sure to close the subtasks first to ensure more accurate reporting.


View tasks and subtasks

The red number next to your Profile icon is the total count of pending tasks and subtasks that are assigned to you. The red dot next to Task Management indicates that you have pending items assigned to you.

Note: Administrators see all tasks regardless of who is assigned to the task, while regular employees only see the tasks assigned to them unless an administrator changes their permissions.

Tasks with a blue dot next to them are ones that are assigned to you that have not been closed yet. If a task has subtasks assigned to you that have not yet been closed, you will see a blue dot next to the task even if the task isn’t assigned to you. The blue dot is removed when the task is closed. In the case of a subtask, the blue dot is removed when the overall task is closed.

Click the dropdown arrow to expand a task and see subtasks.


Add a task from a job page

Since most tasks are directly related to a job, most tasks are added from the relevant job page. Job number, business unit, and customer are automatically added to tasks created directly via the job page.

  1. From the job screen for the job you want to add a task to, click Job Actions.

  2. Click Log Task.

  3. From the Add Task screen, enter the task details. You can add links to other tasks, subtasks, pages in ServiceTitan, or websites outside of ServiceTitan to provide full context for the task.

  4. When you’re finished adding information, click Add Task. Note: If you have already added a job-related task through task management rather than through the job, be sure to add the job number to the task so that the task and the job are linked. When you add the job number, the customer and business unit automatically populate.

After associating a job to a task, you can click the blue icon next to the job number to view the job directly from the task. Additionally, the customer profile for that job shows the associated task.


Add a task through Task Management

Internal business tasks directly assigned to yourself or another employee that are not directly job-related should be added through task management.

  1. From Task Management, click Add Task.

  2. From the Add Task screen, enter the task details. You can add links to other tasks, subtasks, pages in ServiceTitan, or websites outside of ServiceTitan to provide full context for the task. Be sure to select No Business Unit so that the task does not affect reporting accuracy.

  3. When you’re finished adding information, click Add Task.


Add a subtask

Rather than repeatedly re-assigning a task to escalate it along your approval process, create subtasks. Add the subtasks in order to indicate the workflow for a task .

  1. From the Task Management screen, click the task for which you are creating a subtask.

  2. From the task screen, click Add a Subtask.

  3. From the Add Subtask screen, enter the task details. You can add links to other tasks, subtasks, pages in ServiceTitan, or websites outside of ServiceTitan to provide full context for the subtask.

  4. When you are finished, click Add Subtask.


Edit a task or subtask

  1. From the Task Management screen, click the task or the task whose subtask you want to edit.

  2. From the edit screen, make all desired changes to the task or subtask.

  3. Click Apply and save.


Close a task or subtask

  1. From the Task Management screen, click the task or subtask you want to close.

  2. From the flyout, click CLOSE. Note: When you close a task that has open subtasks, you are asked to close the subtasks first.

  3. Click Apply and save.


Export tasks and subtasks

  1. From the Task Management screen, use the task filters so that only the tasks you would like to export are displayed on the task list

  2. Click Export as…

  3. Select the file type you want for the export.

The tasks download in the file type you selected.




Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.