Service Titan Knowledge Base

Set up task managementLast updated on 03/22/2022

An administrator must set up task management and add users before office employees can use it. This section covers setting up task management, adding users, and managing alerts.


Set up task management

  1. From the main navigation bar, click the Profile icon. Then, select Task Management from the dropdown.

  2. From the Task Management screen, click Customize Tasks.

    Note: You can also access task management settings by going to the navigation bar and clicking Settings icon-settings.png, then clicking Operations > Task Management from the side panel.

  3. On the Settings screen, you can add, activate, deactivate, or edit Task Sources, Task Types, Task Resolutions, and Alerts if you need any beyond the ones built into task management.

  4. To ensure that resolutions that don’t apply aren’t selected for tasks, create targeted task resolutions and then map the appropriate resolutions to type tasks.

    In this example, the warranty parts workflow has been clearly defined, demonstrating a targeted process for resolving warranty part tasks.

    You can link resolutions to task types or link task types to resolutions; doing either creates the same result.


Add employees

After you set up task management, make sure the correct employees are able to manage tasks and subtasks.

By default, all administrators have all permissions in task management:

  • View all tasks and subtasks regardless of who is assigned to them

  • Close all tasks and subtasks regardless of who is assigned to them

  • Reopen any closed tasks

  • Reopen any closed subtasks

  • Access task management settings

An administrator can edit individual employee permissions so that employees can do some, all, or none of these.

Administrators see all tasks regardless of who is assigned to the task, while other office employees can only see the tasks assigned to them unless an administrator changes their permissions. For details on how to manage office employee permissions, see Set permissions for an individual employee.


Manage alerts

You can enable alerts for tasks and subtasks. When one or both of these alerts is enabled and you assign a task or subtask to an employee, they receive an alert about the task or subtask. The alert is sent out to the email address or phone number on their profile.

For more on how to add or remove contact information to an employee profile, see Add or edit employee or technician profiles.

  1. From the Task Management screen, click Customize Tasks.

    Note: You can also access task management settings by going to the navigation bar and clicking Settings icon-settings.png, then clicking Operations > Task Management from the side panel.

  2. Click Alerts.

    The Task Assigned and Subtask Assigned alerts notify an employee when a task or subtask is assigned to them. Alert for Updates sends an email to a reporter when the assignee changes a task or subtask and to the assignee when the reporter changes a task or subtask.

  3. Select or deselect the alerts.

  4. When you're finished, click Save.




Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.