Service Titan Knowledge Base

Set permissions for an individual employee or technicianLast updated on 03/22/2022

An office employee or technician’s default permissions are based on their assigned role. You can also customize permissions for an individual without affecting the default permissions for their role.



Set permissions for an individual employee

To edit permissions for an individual office employee:

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Settings icon-settings.png.

  2. In the side panel, go to People > Employees.

  3. Under Employees, click Edit for the employee whose permissions you want to set.

  4. Click Permissions.

  5. In the sections below, select or deselect the permission to enable to disable it

    • Access to Admin

    • Accounting 

    • Customer Communications

    • Job Booking & Dispatching

    • Lead Generation

    • Payroll & Admin

    • Pricebook

    • Purchasing & Inventory

    • Selling & Performing Work

    Note: For information about these permissions in each section, see Explanation of office employee permissions in ServiceTitan

    You can search for a permission in the Search field.

    If you are unsure what granting a permission will do, you can hover over the permission to get a description. 

    If you want to reset to default permissions, click Permission Actions > Reset to defaults for [Role]. You can also create a new role based on the selected permissions from this menu.

  6. When you're done, click Save Changes.


Set permissions for an individual technician

To edit permissions for an individual technician:

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Settings .

  2. In the side panel, go to People > Technicians.

  3. Under Technicians, click Edit for the technician whose permissions you want to change.

  4. Click Permissions.

  5. In the sections below, select or deselect the permission to enable to disable it:

    • Accounting

    • Customer Communications

    • Job Booking & Dispatching

    • Lead Generation

    • Payroll & Admin

    • Pricebook

    • Purchasing & Inventory

    • Selling & Performing Work

    Note: For information about these permissions, see Explanation of technician permissions in ServiceTitan. You can search for a permission in the Search field.

    If you are unsure what granting a permission will do, you can hover over the permission to get a description.

    If you want to reset to default permissions, click Permission Actions > Reset to defaults for Service Technicians. You can also create a new role based on the selected permissions from this menu.

  6. When you're done, click Save Changes.




Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.