Service Titan Knowledge Base

Place a job on holdLast updated on 03/22/2022

Placing a job on hold pauses it until you can address whatever issue is preventing you from continuing with it.


Things to know

  • You can view a list of all appointments that are on hold at the bottom of the dispatch board.

  • When you place a job on hold, it means that you are waiting for something or someone in order to move forward with the job. Such as:

    • A permit is pending

    • You need authorization from a manager, subcontractor, or client before you continue

    • You are waiting for parts or materials you need to complete the job to be delivered

    • You haven't been able to get in touch with the customer to reschedule the job


Manage hold reasons

Note: Only administrators and users with the correct permissions can manage hold reasons. Contact your administrator if you need permissions to manage hold reasons.

Adding job hold reasons that accurately reflect the reasons why jobs are placed on hold is helpful for accurate reporting and record-keeping. Hold reasons should be meaningful, specific, and easy to understand by everyone at your business.

Add or edit a job reason
  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Settings icon-settings.png.

  2. In the side panel, click Operations > Cancel and Hold Reasons.

  3. Click Add to add a job hold reason or Edit next to the job hold reason you would like to change.

  4. Click Save.

Activate or deactivate job hold reasons

Job hold reasons can be deactivated or activated in bulk.

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click the Settings settings.png.

  2. In the side panel, click Operations > Cancel and Hold Reasons.

  3. Check the box or boxes for the reason or reasons you would like to activate or deactivate.

  4. Click Activate or Deactivate.

  5. Confirm your activation or deactivation.


Place a job on hold

To place a job on hold, you will hold all appointments and then reverse that action when you are ready to resume the job.

  1. From the job you would like to place a hold on, click Job Actions > Hold All Appointments.

  2. Select a hold reason from the dropdown and add comments, then click Hold.

  3. When you're ready to resume all appointments, click Job Actions > Remove Hold From All Appointments.


Want to learn more?



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.