Service Titan Knowledge Base

Merge and unmerge duplicate customer and location recordsLast updated on 09/14/2022

If you have created two of the same customer or location, you can merge them together.


Merge duplicate customer records

Before you merge records, identify which of the duplicate records you want to remove. For example, add the number 1 next to the record that you want to remove. This helps you identify which record is which when in the merge workflow. Any information from the record being removed that is not on the record you are keeping will be added to the record you are keeping.

  1. Search for the customer record you want to remove.

  2. Open the customer record by clicking on their name.

  3. Click Edit icon-pencil.png.

  4. Type the number 1 next to the customer’s name.

  5. Click Save. Repeat these steps for each record you want to remove.

Once you have identified the customer record that you want to remove, you can merge it into the record you want to keep.

  1. Click Settings icon-settings.png.

  2. In the side panel, search for Merge Customers.

  3. Enter the name on the customer record you'd like to keep.

  4. Enter the name on the customer record you'd like to remove. The record with the number 1 added to it.

  5. Click Merge.

You will see a message indicating the merge has completed successfully. Any information from the record being removed that is not on the record you are keeping will be added to the record you are keeping. If you have more than one customer record to merge, redo this process for each additional customer record. Check the audit trail beneath the merge workflow to see a historical record of your audits.


Merge duplicate location records

Before you merge records, identify which of the duplicate records you want to remove. For example, change the location name of the location you want to remove to REMOVE. This helps you identify which record is which in the merge workflow. Any information from the record being removed that is not on the record you are keeping will be added to the record you are keeping.

  1. Search for the customer who has duplicate locations.

  2. Open the customer record by clicking their name.

  3. Scroll down to the Locations section and click on a location that you want to remove.

  4. Click Edit icon-pencil.png.

  5. Change the Name to REMOVE.

  6. Click Save. Repeat these steps for each location you want to remove.

Once you have identified the location records you want to remove, you can merge them into the record you want to keep.

  1. Click Settings icon-settings.png.

  2. In the side panel, search Merge Locations.

  3. Search by location name or address for the location you wish to keep.

  4. A secondary box opens with all other locations tied to that customer. Note: Only locations belonging to the customer that are on their customer record appear. If you do not see the location you want to remove you may need to merge customers first.

  5. Select the duplicate locations that you want to remove and merge into the primary location. Tip: Use CRTL on a PC or Command on a Mac to select multiple locations.

  6. Click Merge.

You will see a message indicating the merge has completed successfully. Any information from the record being removed that is not on the record you are keeping will be added to the record you are keeping. Check the audit trail beneath the merge workflow to see a historical record of your audits.


Undo a merge

You can undo a customer or location record merge by searching for records in Inactive status, or by opening the deactivated entity on the Audit Trail.

Search for inactive record
  1. Click Search icon-search.png.

  2. Use the dropdown to select Customer or Location.

  3. Enter any search terms necessary to find the record you want to undo a merge on.

  4. Select Inactive under Status.

  5. Click the green Search icon icon-search.png.

  6. Click the inactive record in the search results.

  7. Click Undo merge.

Undo from the audit trail
  1. Click Settings icon-settings.png.

  2. In the side panel, search for Merge Customers or Merge Locations depending on the record type you want to unmerge.

  3. Scroll down to the Audit Trail section.

  4. Click the Deactivated Entity you want to unmerge.

  5. Click Undo merge.




Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.