Service Titan Knowledge Base

Setup invoice signature settingsLast updated on 03/22/2022

By default, technicians are required to collect invoice signatures to close out a job. You can set signature requirements based on job, job type, customer, or service location. If you have an agreement with your customer, you can choose to skip collecting invoice signatures to close out the job. This gives you the flexibility to decide if invoice signatures are required for a job.


Things to know

  • Invoice signatures cover agreement to the customer authorization and customer acknowledgment.

  • If there is a conflict in invoice signature requirements between the customer record, service location, or job type, the settings default to not requiring an invoice signature to be collected by a technician.


Update invoice signature requirement for a job

Update invoice signature requirement for a job to ensure your technicians can close out a job without collecting a signature, especially if agreed upon in the contract.

To update invoice signature requirements for a job:

  1. Search the job for which you want to edit the invoice signature settings.

  2. Select the job. The job record opens.

  3. Click the Pencil icon to edit the job record.

  4. Scroll to the bottom of the screen. By default, Invoice Signature is selected. To remove the invoice signature requirement, deselect Invoice Signature.

  5. When you’re done, click Save.

After you remove the invoice signature requirement for a job, the invoice signatures associated with the job are marked optional. The technician can close out the job without collecting these signatures:

  • Customer authorization

  • Customer acknowledgment

Note: If invoice signatures are collected, they are printed on the customer invoice regardless of your invoice signatures settings. If invoice signatures are not collected, the signature paragraphs are removed from the printed customer invoices.


Update invoice signature default for a job type

If you have a job type that does not require signatures when closing out the job, you can set the default setting to save time.

To update invoice signature default for a job type:

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Settingsicon-settings.png. In the side panel, click Operations > Job Types.

  2. Click Edit for the job type you want to update the invoice signature default. The Edit Job Type screen opens.

  3. Scroll to the bottom of the screen. By default, Invoice Signature is selected. To remove the invoice signature requirement, deselect Invoice Signature.

  4. When you’re done, click Save.


Update invoice signature default for a customer or service location

  1. Search the location or customer for which you want to edit the invoice signature settings. Note: You can also select Location to update invoice signature settings for a customer location.

  2. Select the customer. The customer record opens.

  3. Click the Pencil icon to edit the customer record.

  4. Scroll to the bottom of the screen. By default, Invoice Signature is selected. To remove the invoice signature requirement, deselect Invoice Signature.

    The Update invoice signature requirement pop-up opens.

  5. Select if you want to apply your update to future jobs only or to existing booked jobs as well.

  6. When you're done, click Save.

  7. Click Save on the customer record to complete your update.


Want to learn more?



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.