Service Titan Knowledge Base

Share custom dashboardsLast updated on 03/22/2022

You can share custom dashboards with other office employees, either by company role or by individual employee. This ensures that your team members have access to the same dashboard metrics to maximize productivity.


Things to know

  • When you share View permission for a dashboard with a company role or individual employee, they must have global permissions enabled to View Dashboards. Employees must also have Edit Dashboards permission enabled to edit a shared dashboard.

  • If you change global dashboard permissions for a role or employee, make sure to reload the custom dashboard Share Access screen for the permissions to take effect.

  • If you share a custom dashboard with someone who is missing permissions to view a module, they can still access the dashboard, but they cannot view modules they are missing permissions for.


Open custom dashboard sharing settings

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Dashboard.

  2. Click the Modular Dashboard dropdown and select the custom dashboard you want to share.

    The dashboard opens.

  3. Click Share Access.

    The Share Access screen opens.

From the Share Access screen, you can share the dashboard by company role or by individual employee.


Share dashboard by company role

  1. Open the sharing settings for the custom dashboard you want to share.

  2. Select or deselect the roles you want to enable or disable View access for.

    Tip: Use the Actions dropdown to manage sharing access for all company roles.

  3. When you’re finished setting sharing access, click Save Changes. A confirmation pop-up opens.

  4. Click Save to confirm the action.Note: To apply the new sharing settings to employees already assigned to that role, select Apply changes to existing users. Otherwise, the new settings only apply to office employees assigned to that role after you save the changes.


Share dashboard by individual employee

  1. Open the sharing settings for the custom dashboard you want to share.

  2. Click the Manage by role dropdown and select Manage individual users.

  3. For an individual, select an item to enable sharing or deselect it to disable sharing:

    • View—Can view the custom dashboard

    • Edit—Can edit the custom dashboard

    Note: Employees tagged with an Error icon-error-outline.png icon do not have full permissions to access the dashboard. For more, see Resolve missing permissions.

    Tip: Use the Actions dropdown to manage sharing access for all individuals.

  4. When you’re finished, click Save Changes.


Resolve missing permissions

Note: You must have administrator access to resolve missing permissions.

When sharing a custom dashboard, if an employee is tagged with an Error icon-error-outline.png icon, they are missing permissions for report templates used by the dashboard modules.

  • If you share access and their missing permissions conflict, the icon turns red. For example, if they only have View permission enabled for a template and you select Edit, the icon turns red.

  • If you share access and their missing permissions do not conflict, the icon stays gray. For example, if they only have View permission enabled for a template and you select View, the icon stays gray.

To resolve missing permissions:

  1. Click Error icon-error-outline.png for the employee you want to share the dashboard with. The Missing Permissions pop-up opens listing the modules the employee does not have access to along with the report template the module is based on.Note: The pop-up lists missing View and Edit permissions in separate sections.

  2. For a module, click Give Permission to enable View or Edit permission for the template the module is based on. Or, click Give All Permissions to enable full permissions for all the listed report templates.Note: Enabling permissions for a template here also enables the employee to run reports based on that template.

  3. Continue with the steps for sharing the dashboard with an employee.


Want to learn more?



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.