Service Titan Knowledge Base

Add and manage technician profilesLast updated on 03/31/2022

Create and edit profiles for your technicians in ServiceTitan. Include details to help you manage scheduling, run reports, book and dispatch jobs, and more.


Things to know

  • Technician profiles require either a unique phone number or email address for account verification and technician notifications. These cannot be used with other technician profiles.

  • ServiceTitan uses permissions to restrict access to certain features. A technician’s default permissions are set by their technician role. You can set permissions for an individual or edit the default permissions by role.

  • To edit, activate, and deactivate profiles, make sure you have the Activate Or Deactivate Employees and Edit Employee permissions enabled. Contact your company administrator for details. Note: Administrators have these permissions enabled by default.

  • The Status column of the Technicians table shows the date of the individual’s most recent sign-in. Or, if the account is not fully set up, it displays one of the following:

    • Accepted—Individual created an account from an emailed invitation but they have not yet signed in

    • Pending—Invitation was sent but the individual has not yet created an account

    • Admin Assigned—Username and password were set but individual has not yet signed in

    • Never logged in—Profile was created but no invitation to create an account was sent nor was an account assigned

    • No user account—Profile was created but is missing required fields

    add-employee-status.png


Add a technician profile

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Settings icon-settings.png. In the side panel, go to People>Technician. The Technician screen opens.

  2. Click Add.

    Add a Technician opens.

  3. Enter basic profile info:

    • Technician Name (required)—Name of the technician used across ServiceTitan and in customer communications

    • Company Position (required)—Positions are used to customize notifications and training programs. Select as many positions that reflect the technician’s duties

    • Technician Type (required)—Select either Managed or Non-managed. Managed technicians will receive credit for sales and work performed, and if this option is selected you will be billed for this managed technician. Unmanaged technicians will not be billed. Note: Depending on your account configuration, adding managed technicians can increase your billing. Please contact Technical Support for details.

    • Role (required)—Role of the technician. This is used to set their default permissions.

    • Skills—List skills to help assign technicians by job type

    • Business Unit—Business unit (BU) of the technician. BUs are used for reporting purposes and to control access to certain features.

    • Photo—Upload a photo to represent the technician. This image is used across ServiceTitan and in customer communications. Note: Maximum size limit for the image is 16MB.

    • Biography—Technician details shared in customer communications

  4. Enter contact information for the technician:

    • Mobile Phone—Mobile phone number of the technician used for verification purposes and communications. This number cannot be used with another technician profile. Note: A technician profile must include a unique mobile phone number or email address.

    • Email—Email address of the technician used for dispatch notifications and report delivery. This address cannot be used with another technician profile.

  5. Enter ServiceTitan Mobile access for the technician:

    • Enable Mobile Access—When this option is enabled, the technician will be able to access the ServiceTitan Mobile app. This is enabled by default. Note: Non-managed technicians do not have full mobile access. For more on mobile, see Access in ServiceTitan Mobile.

    • Upcoming Appointment Visibility—Use the dropdown to set how many scheduled appointments the technician can view in ServiceTitan Mobile

    • Appointment History Visibility (required)—Use the dropdown to set how far back the technician can view completed jobs

    • New Account Status—Select how you want to complete the account setup:

      • Create an account later—Set up username and password at a later date

      • Send invitation via email—Technician receives an email with instructions on setting up their ServiceTitan username and password

      • Create username and password—Enter the technician’s ServiceTitan credentials during the profile creation process

  6. Enter Dispatching information for the technician:

    • Main ZoneZone where the technician performs most of their work

    • All Zones—All zones where the technician performs work. These are used to dispatch technicians with Maps 2.0.

    • Memo—Details about the technician that appear on the Dispatch Board

  7. Enter the technician's revenue and cost information:

  8. Enter the technician's inventory details:

    • Truck (required)—Select the truck the technician is assigned to. This is for tracking inventory and truck replenishment purposes.

    • Inventory Warehouse—Enter the warehouse the technician is assigned to. This is the warehouse that is used for truck replenishment purposes.

  9. Enter the technician's home address information:

    • Street, City, State, ZIP Code, and Country—Home address of the technician. This address can be used for delivering purchase orders.

  10. Enter the technician's human resources information used for managing the technician:

    • Manager—Select the technician's manager from the dropdown menu.

  11. When you're finished, click Save Changes.

Note: The Payroll and Permissions tabs are optional. You can always manage payroll settings or set technician permissions later.

Payroll requires account configuration. Please contact Technical Support for details.


Edit a profile

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Settings icon-settings.png.

  2. In the side panel, go to People>Technicians. The Technicians screen opens. Note: By default, the list shows active profiles. To view inactive profiles, in the Active column header, click Filter icon-filter.png, select Inactive, and click Filter. Tip: Click Filter icon-filter.png for any column header to filter the technician table for items in that column.

  3. For the profile you want to update, click Edit.

    Edit Technician opens.

  4. Make changes to the profile as needed. Tip: Click Profile Actions > Deactivate technician to make the profile inactive. Technicians cannot sign in with an inactive profile.

  5. When you’re finished, click Save Changes. If you need to edit another technician's account, click on Technicians in the side panel to return to the Technicians screen.


Manage profiles in bulk

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Settings icon-settings.png.

  2. In the side panel, go to People>Technicians. The Technicians screen opens.

  3. Select the technicians you want to perform actions on.

  4. Click the Actions dropdown and select an action:

    • Activate—Reactivate inactive profiles Note: To view inactive profiles, in the Active column header, click Filter icon-filter.png, select Inactive, and click Filter.

    • Deactivate—Make profiles inactive. Technicians cannot sign in with an inactive profile.

    • Send Password Reset—Email a prompt to set a new account password to the address listed on their profile

    • Send Account Invite—Email an invitation to set up their account to the address listed on their profile

  5. Confirm the action in the pop-up notification.


Want to learn more?



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.