Service Titan Knowledge Base

Follow up on opportunitiesLast updated on 09/14/2022

When an estimate is created on a job but isn’t sold, an opportunity is automatically created. Opportunities are just that: an opportunity to secure additional revenue by selling a previously unsold estimate. You can see unsold estimates and other opportunities from the Follow Up screen, giving you a centralized location from which to act on opportunities.


Things to know

  • You can sort estimates by highest value, helping to maximize your revenue.

  • If you create an estimate from the Call Booking screen without booking a job, an opportunity is not generated.

  • Opportunities and estimates are usually manually dismissed. The only time when an opportunity closes automatically is when an estimate is sold and the value of the sold estimate is greater than job type sold threshold; this converts the opportunity to Won status.

  • Opportunities are only automatically closed when an estimate is sold to the customer and the estimate value is greater than the job type sold threshold. This also sets the opportunities status to Won.


Follow up on an opportunity

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Follow Up.

  2. Find the opportunity you would like to follow up on and click it.

  3. Click Call the customer. Click OK to confirm the outbound call.

  4. At the end of the call, move forward based on the customer's response. Ideally, the customer will want you to sell the estimate and book the job. They may want to edit the estimate, add estimates, or have you follow up. They may also decline and have you dismiss the estimate. If they do not want to be contacted again, you can dismiss the entire opportunity.

Tip: Use the Topics Covered navigation to go directly to the workflow you need


Sell an open estimate

  1. From the opportunity page, click Sold/Convert.

  2. Select the name of the person responsible for the sale or conversion. By default, this will be whoever created the estimate. Click Sold/Convert to confirm. The Estimate opens.

  3. Select the Tasks, Equipment and Materials that will be part of the job.

  4. Click Book new job.


Book a sold estimate

After you have sold or converted an open estimate, you can book install job(s) immediately. If you don’t book jobs for converted estimates right away, be sure to go to the Sold Estimates tab under Follow Ups to book jobs for converted estimates.

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Follow Up, and then click the Sold Estimates tab.

  2. Find the opportunity for which you would like to book a job and click it.

  3. From the sold estimate, check the estimate(s) for which you would like to book a job. Note: You can Check all if applicable.

  4. Click Book Job. This takes you to the Call Booking screen.

  5. From the Call Booking screen, book a job as usual.


Edit estimates in an opportunity

If the customer wants you to edit an estimate before they agree to it:

  1. On the opportunity page, click edit on the estimate you want to edit.

  2. Add, remove or edit items on the estimate as requested then click Save.

  3. Under the Opportunity field, click the Opportunity Number.

  4. Go back to the Follow Up screen.


Add an estimate to an opportunity

If the customer wants to see more options or needs additional work done, add estimates to the opportunity:

  1. On the opportunity page, click View Invoice.

  2. Click Add an estimate.

  3. Add estimate details and then click Save.

  4. Add, remove or edit items on the estimate as requested then click Save.

  5. Click View opportunity to go back to the Follow Up screen.


Log a follow up

If you need to contact the customer at a later date, log a follow up.

Note: Using any of the templates or leaving any comment without selecting Successfully reached the customer sets the opportunity status to Unreachable. If you check Successfully reached the customer, the status changes to Contacted. There is no way to undo this, even if you delete or edit the follow up in the audit trail.

  1. At the bottom of the opportunity page, click Log a follow-up.

  2. Use the Log Templates dropdown, choose pre-written to be added to the Notes field or enter your own notes.

  3. Click inside the Change appointment date field to open a calendar and select your next follow up date.

  4. Select Successfully reached the customer, Copy to Customer Notes, and Copy to Location Notes if applicable.

  5. When you are done, click Save.


Dismiss an estimate in an opportunity

If the customer confirms that they do not want to buy a specific estimate in an opportunity, dismiss that estimate.

Note: There are two Dismiss buttons. One to dismiss an individual estimate and one to dismiss the entire opportunity.

  1. From the opportunity page, click Dismiss next to the estimate the customer doesn’t want, then click OK to confirm.

    You can click Reopen to open it again later if needed.


Dismiss entire opportunity

After you have spoken on the phone or otherwise communicated with a customer with an open opportunity, and the customer confirms that they do not want to be contacted about it at all, dismiss the entire opportunity:

  1. At the top of the opportunity page, click Dismiss, and then click OK to confirm.

    You can click Reopen to open it later.


Want to learn more?



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.