Service Titan Knowledge Base

Close out appointments in ServiceTitan MobileLast updated on 03/22/2022

When you are ready to leave a job use Closeout in the mobile app. It is located at the bottom of the left sidebar. There you can mark the entire appointment done, mark just yourself done at the appointment, pause the appointment, schedule additional appointments or complete the job. Note: These options depend on the number of technicians still at the appointment, the number of remaining appointments on the job and the permissions you have enabled on your account.


Things to know

  • Mark Appointment Done and Only Mark Myself as Done are only available when there are more appointments on a job or other technicians on the final appointment, otherwise you will Complete the Job. For jobs that will require multiple appointments, you should create appointments in advance, so that your technicians see the options you want them to use.

  • A technician will not be able to self-dispatch to an appointment that has been marked as done.

  • Each option under I Need Another Appointment Scheduled requires its own permission.

  • Set an alert for when a technician requests an appointment so there are no incomplete jobs waiting on new appointments.

  • Do not complete a job if there are more appointments or technicians on the job. Any technicians who are working or scheduled on other appointments will lose access to the job when it is completed.

  • If your technicians often work in offline mode, allowing them to have the Pause permission in case they are not able sync any changes done on the office side.


Technician permissions

Make sure you have the correct permissions set up so technicians have access to the closeout options you want them to use.

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Settings icon-settings.png.

  2. In the side panel, click People > Technicians.

  3. Find the technician you want to edit permissions for and click Edit.

  4. Click Permissions.

  5. Select or deselect a permission to enable or disable it.

  6. Click Save at the bottom of the page.

Permission definitions

Schedule additional appointments on a job—Allows a technician to schedule additional appointments on a job after they close out their current appointment.

Self Dispatching—Allows technicians to dispatch themselves to an appointment.

Pause on an Appointment—Allows a technician to pause an appointment if they need to temporarily leave a job site.

Request an additional appointment for a Job—Allows a technician to request that additional appointments be scheduled on a job after they close out their current appointment. Note: If you enable this permission, set up an alert for when a technician uses this feature to ensure you do not have incomplete jobs that require additional appointments.

Place Job On Hold—Allows a technician to place an appointment on hold in situations when no further work can be completed.

Lead Technician Actions—The technician can mark entire appointments as done.


Mark an appointment as Done

You can mark yourself as done on an appointment by selecting Only Mark Myself as Done which allows you to leave a job without marking the entire appointment as done. If you have the Lead Technician Actions permission, you can mark an entire appointment as done by selecting Mark Appointment Done.

  1. Tap CLOSEOUT at the bottom of the left sidebar.

  2. Tap Only Mark Myself as Done. If you are the lead technician tap Mark Done and then choose Mark Appointment Done or Only Mark Myself as Done.

  3. Tap CLOSEOUT.

  4. Confirm you want to proceed by tapping CLOSEOUT.


Schedule another appointment

There are three options available to you when you need another appointment scheduled: place this appointment on hold, I will schedule another appointment and notify the office that I’ll need another appointment. Each requires its own permission be set up.

Tip: Set an alert for when a technician requests an appointment so you do not miss jobs that require appointments. Go to Settings > Integrations > Alerts to set alerts.

  1. Tap CLOSEOUT at the bottom of the left sidebar.

  2. Tap I Need Another Appointment Scheduled.

  3. Choose what you want to do:

  • Place this Appointment on Hold:

    1. Tap the Hold Reasoning dropdown and choose an option.

    2. Add a memo (optional).

    3. Tap CLOSEOUT at the bottom of the screen.

    4. Confirm you want to proceed by tapping CLOSEOUT. This puts the appointment in Done status, and creates a duplicate appointment that gets put on Hold.

  • I will schedule another appointment.

    1. Tap Date to select a date from the calendar selector.

    2. Tap Time to select a time from the clock selector.

    3. Add a memo (optional).

    4. Tap CLOSEOUT at the bottom of the screen.

    5. Confirm you want to proceed by tapping CLOSEOUT. This marks the current appointment as Done and creates a new appointment for the date and time entered with the same technicians assigned.

  • Notify the office that I’ll need another Appointment.

    1. Enter a reason in the Why do you need another Appointment? field.

    2. Tap CLOSEOUT at the bottom of the screen.

    3. Confirm you want to proceed by tapping CLOSEOUT. The office will be notified to schedule an appointment.


Pause an appointment

Pause an appointment when you need to leave a job but plan to return on the same day.

  1. Tap CLOSEOUT at the bottom of the left sidebar.

  2. Tap Pause this Appointment.

  3. Tap CLOSEOUT.

  4. The appointment is now paused. To restart the appointment, tap DISPATCH when you’re on your way back and ARRIVE when you return to the job site. If you do not have permission to dispatch yourself then you will need to contact the office and have them do it for you.


Complete a job in the mobile app

You should not complete a job if there are more appointments or technicians still on the job. Any technicians who are working or scheduled on other appointments, will lose access to the job when it is completed.

There are a few things that block a job from being completed:

  • A required form needs to be filled out

  • Required signatures need to be collected

  • Required equipment details need to be entered

  • Work needs to be scheduled on a sold estimate

  1. Tap CLOSEOUT at the bottom of the left sidebar.

  2. Tap Complete the Job.

  3. Tap CLOSEOUT at the bottom of the screen. You will not be able to complete this step if there are forms to be filled out, signatures to be collected, missing equipment details or additional work to be scheduled.

  4. Review if any technicians will be impacted, or if there are more appointments scheduled on the job.

  5. Confirm you want to proceed by tapping COMPLETE JOB.


Want to learn more?



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.