Service Titan Knowledge Base

Cancel transactionsLast updated on 11/09/2022

You can cancel transactions such as Purchase Orders (PO), Receipts, Returns, Adjustments, and Transfers. This feature can be used when a transaction is no longer needed or was added by mistake. Canceled transactions remain visible, along with the canceling user and date. The entire audit history is available for your review.


Things to know

  • You can’t cancel transactions if:

    • Additional transactions are created that depend on the original transaction. For example, if a return is created from a purchase order, the original purchase order can no longer be canceled.

    • The transaction is exported to your accounting system. In this case, you can create additional transactions to accomplish your goal. For example, you can create additional returns or inventory adjustments.


Cancel a transaction

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Inventory Inventory-icon.

  2. From the side menu, select the transaction type you want to cancel, for example, Purchase Orders.

  3. On the Purchase Orders screen that opens, select the purchase order you want to cancel. The purchase order record opens.

  4. From the Actions dropdown, select Cancel.

    The Cancel PO? Pop-up window opens.

  5. From the dropdown, select the reason for canceling the purchase order, for example, Duplicate.

  6. When you’re finished, click Cancel PO.


Cancel an outstanding quantity

For Partially Received POs, you can cancel items that are no longer coming from the vendor you ordered:

  1. On the Purchase Orders screen, click the Partially Received tab.

  2. Select the partially received PO you want. The PO record opens.

  3. From the Actions dropdown field, select Cancel Outstanding Qty.

  4. On the Cancel Unreceived Quantities pop-up that opens, from the dropdown field, select the reason for canceling the items.

  5. When you’re finished, click Cancel Outstanding Qty.

When you select Cancel Outstanding Qty, the system creates a new PO with the outstanding quantities and cancels the created PO.

Note: Any quantity received remains on the current PO and the status of the PO changes to Received.


Want to learn more?



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.