Service Titan Knowledge Base

Set up and use Automated Job ConfirmationsLast updated on 03/31/2022

Set up Automated Job Confirmations to simplify and speed up your confirmation workflow. Instead of calling your customers to confirm, your customers can confirm by text at their convenience. After they reply with a confirmation keyword, the appointment shows up as confirmed in the system. This convenient automated process saves you and your customers time and effort.


Things to know

  • If you use Chat, your workflow for Automated Job Confirmations is different.

  • After a customer confirms an appointment by text, in addition to the appointments showing up as confirmed on the Dispatch Board, the confirmation displays in the job audit trail and on the appointment card.

  • If a job has multiple appointments each appointment gets its own confirmation.

  • Confirmation keywords are letters or words that a customer sends to confirm a job. They are not case-sensitive: C, Y, Confirm, Confirmed, Yes.


Set up Automated Job Confirmations

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Settings icon-settings.png.

  2. In the side panel, click Communications > Customer Notifications.

  3. Under Reminder Notifications, select Automated Job Confirmations (via text).

  4. Click the Automated Job Confirmations (via text) tab.

  5. Toggle Enable automated job confirmations.

    Note: If you haven’t already set a toll-free default SMS number or enabled reminder notifications, you are prompted to do that first. To learn more, see Set up outbound numbers for text notifications.

  6. Click SAVE.

  7. Click the Text tab

  8. Click Customize.

  9. Drag Reply to confirm from Job Confirmations into your Message Content.

  10. Click Preview Edits to review changes

  11. Click SAVE.


Customize Automated Job Confirmation

By default, reminders by both email and text are sent 24 hours before an appointment. There is also a template for confirmation texts. You can change these settings to fit your business needs:

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Settings icon-settings.png.

  2. In the side panel, click Communications > Customer Notifications.

  3. Under Reminder Notifications, select Automated Job Confirmations (via text).

  4. In the Text tab, click Customize to set up the content for the automated text message. If, after making changes, you want to go back to using the default message, click Customize and then Reset To Default. When you’re done, click SAVE.

  5. Click the Settings tab to add a custom time to deliver the text. When you’re done customizing the time, click SAVE.


Use Automated Job Confirmations

After you’ve set up Automated Job Confirmations, your customers are prompted to confirm jobs via text message.

  • If the customer replies using one of the confirmation keywords, they receive an automated confirmation message, the appointment is marked as confirmed, and their reply will not show up in your Dispatch Board alerts.

  • If the customer replies with anything other than a confirmation keyword, they don’t receive an automated response, the appointment remains unconfirmed, and you see their reply in your Dispatch Board alerts. If the message was intended to be a confirmation, manually mark the appointments as confirmed. To learn how to manually confirm jobs, see Confirm jobs.

  • If the message was something other than a confirmation, like a request to cancel or reschedule, follow up with the customer.


Use Automated Job Confirmations with Chat

If you use Chat, the Automated Job Confirmation workflow is different.

After you have set up Automated Job Confirmations, your customers are prompted to confirm appointments via the text message reminders they receive before an appointment. The texts show up in your Chat history for that customer.

  • If the customer replies using one of the confirmation keywords, they receive an automated confirmation message and the appointment is marked as confirmed. You don’t have to take any further action.

  • If the customer replies with anything other than just a confirmation keyword, they don’t receive an automated response and the appointment remains unconfirmed. If you check the Chat message and see that it was intended to be a confirmation, manually mark the appointments as confirmed. To learn how to manually confirm jobs, see Confirm jobs.

  • If the message was something other than a confirmation, like a request to cancel or reschedule, follow up with the customer via Chat.For more about Chat, see the Chat section of the Knowledge Base.


Want to learn more?



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.