Service Titan Knowledge Base

Add and manage office employee profilesLast updated on 09/09/2022

Create and edit profiles for the office employees you want to manage in ServiceTitan. After employees complete their account setup, they can start using ServiceTitan.


Things to know

  • Office employee profiles require a unique email address for account verification purposes. This address cannot be used with other office employee profiles.

  • ServiceTitan uses permissions to restrict access to certain features. An office employee’s default permissions are set by their employee role. You can set permissions for an individual or edit the default permissions by role.

  • To edit, activate, and deactivate profiles, make sure you have the Activate Or Deactivate Employees and Edit Employee permissions enabled. Contact your company administrator for details. Note: Administrators have these permissions enabled by default.

  • The Status column of the Employees table shows the date of the individual’s most recent sign-in. Or, if the account is not fully set up, it displays one of the following:

    • Accepted—Individual created an account from an emailed invitation but they have not yet signed in

    • Pending—Invitation was sent but the individual has not yet created an account

    • Admin Assigned—Username and password were set but the individual has not yet signed in

    • Never logged in—Profile was created but no invitation to create an account was sent nor was an account assigned

    • No user account—Profile was created but is missing required fields


Add an office employee profile

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Settings .

  2. In the side panel, go to People > Employees. The Employees screen opens.

  3. Click Add.

    Add an Employee opens.

  4. Enter basic information about the employee:

    • Employee Name (required)—Name of the employee. This is used across ServiceTitan and in reports.

    • Company Position (required)—Positions are used to customize notifications and training programs. Select as many positions that reflect the employee’s duties.

    • Role—Role of the employee. This is used to set their default permissions.

    • Business Unit—Business unit (BU) of the employee. BUs are used for reporting purposes and to control access to certain features.

    • Manager—Select the employee’s manager. Managers can review, edit, and approve payroll for their team. 

    • Photo—Upload a photo to represent the employee. This image is used across ServiceTitan and in customer communications.

  5. Enter the employee’s contact information:

    • Email (required)—Email address of the employee. This is used for verification purposes and to send reports to. This address cannot be used with another employee profile.

    • Mobile Phone—Mobile phone number of the employee

    • Office Phone—Actual phone number the employee uses to place and receive calls while working Note: When the employee places a customer call through ServiceTitan, this is the number dialed to connect the call to the employee. Do not use a tracking number.

  6. Enter the employee’s ServiceTitan access:

    • Username (required)—Username the employee will use to sign into ServiceTitan. Usernames must be unique.

  7. When you’re finished, click Save Changes.

Note: The Payroll and Permissions tabs are optional. You can always add payroll details or set office employee permissions later.

Payroll requires account configuration. Contact Technical Support for details.


Edit a profile

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Settings settings.png.

  2. In the side panel, go to People > Employees. The Employees screen opens. Note: By default, the table shows active profiles. To view inactive profiles, in the Active column header, click Filter filter, select Inactive, and click Filter. Tip: Click Filter filter for any column header to filter the employee table for items in that column.

  3. For the profile you want to update, click Edit

    Edit Employee opens.

  4. Make changes to the profile as needed. Tip: Click Profile Actions > Deactivate employee to make the profile inactive. Employees cannot sign in with an inactive profile.

  5. When you’re finished, click Save Changes. If you need to edit another employee’s account, click on Employees in the side panel to return to the Employees screen.


Manage profiles in bulk

You can perform bulk actions on profiles from the Employees screen including activating and deactivating profiles and sending password reset and account invite emails:

  1. Go to the navigation bar and click Settings settings.png.

  2. In the side panel, go to People > Employees. The Employees screen opens.

  3. Select the employees you want to perform actions on.

  4. Click the Actions dropdown and select an action:

    • Activate—Reactivate inactive profiles Note: To view inactive profiles, in the Active column header, click Filter filter, select Inactive, and click Filter.

    • Deactivate—Make profiles inactive. Employees cannot sign in with an inactive profile.

    • Send Password Reset—Email a prompt to set a new account password to the address listed on their profile

    • Send Account Invite—Email an invitation to set up their account to the address listed on their profile

  5. Confirm the action in the pop-up notification.


Want to learn more?



Important note: Some features may not be currently included in your account and additional configuration may be required. Please contact technical support for details.