--- title: "A user keeps upgrading technicians to Managed" slug: "a-user-keeps-upgrading-technicians-to-managed" updated: 2026-10-15T03:11:22Z published: 2026-10-15T03:11:22Z canonical: "help.servicetitan.com/a-user-keeps-upgrading-technicians-to-managed" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.servicetitan.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # A user keeps upgrading technicians to Managed ## Problem A technician is being upgraded to Managed and you either have no idea how it is happening or realize that it is happening due to certain actions taken by users. ## Solution #### Upgrade a Managed Technician There are two ways to upgrade a technician to managed. 1. Click edit on the Technician Profile in settings, and check the Managed Technician checkbox as shown below. ![Upgrade a Managed Technician](https://cdn.document360.io/961862ab-d0f2-4d91-bb62-a62ee8184eff/Images/Documentation/a-user-keeps-upgrading-technicians-to-managed-image-t9ysq3uz.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-16T11%3A28%3A21Z&se=2026-10-16T12%3A28%3A21Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=enxOPjyiRHCNUNoqpVk2kzHhFEz%2FbmlAxlO%2BLCErUIM%3D) 2. Try to complete a job with only an unmanaged technician assigned. This will cause a pop-up stating, "*You cannot Complete this job until a Managed Technician on every open appointment has a timesheet entry. Please convert at least one of the following Technicians into a Managed Technician, or resolve the issue by fixing the assignments and timesheets*". Click the drop-down and select the unmanaged technician assigned and click applies, that technician will become managed. ![select the unmanaged technician assigned](https://cdn.document360.io/961862ab-d0f2-4d91-bb62-a62ee8184eff/Images/Documentation/a-user-keeps-upgrading-technicians-to-managed-image-2mt0ykdy.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-16T11%3A28%3A21Z&se=2026-10-16T12%3A28%3A21Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=enxOPjyiRHCNUNoqpVk2kzHhFEz%2FbmlAxlO%2BLCErUIM%3D) #### Prevent Users from taking the above actions 1. Go to **Settings** ![A simple icon representing a settings gear. ](https://cdn.document360.io/961862ab-d0f2-4d91-bb62-a62ee8184eff/Images/Documentation/icon-gnav-settings-inactive.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-16T11%3A28%3A21Z&se=2026-10-16T12%3A28%3A21Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=enxOPjyiRHCNUNoqpVk2kzHhFEz%2FbmlAxlO%2BLCErUIM%3D) > **People** > **Employees**. 2. Find the user(s) that you want to prevent from being able to take actions that make a technician managed. 3. Click **Edit** and go to **Permissions** at the top of the profile. 4. Find the permission called **Edit Employee** and remove that permission. The user will no longer be able to make any action to make the technicians managed. When the drop-down shows up on a job from trying to complete a job without a managed technician and the user clicks on the unmanaged tech and applies, they will get an error message that they do not have permission to take that action. ### Want to learn more? - See [Managed technicians and non-managed technicians in ServiceTitan Mobile](/v1/docs/managed-technicians-non-managed-technicians-mobile) The user record for a field technician in ServiceTitan, containing schedule, skills, pay rates, certifications, and performance history. **What it does:** Centralizes all information needed to schedule, pay, and evaluate a technician from a single record. **Also called:** Tech profile, Field user record **Tags:** Core [See the full glossary →](https://help.servicetitan.com/docs/glossary-overview)