--- title: "Unsell sold estimates" slug: "unsell-sold-estimates" updated: 2026-10-15T00:35:07Z published: 2026-10-15T00:35:07Z canonical: "help.servicetitan.com/unsell-sold-estimates" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.servicetitan.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Unsell sold estimates ## Overview You can unsell and resell estimates when changes are needed, and the estimate hasn't been signed by the customer. This lets you adjust the estimate if something was sold by mistake or needs to be updated. You can include the new sale in your reporting, so your sales data stays accurate. This helps keep your records clean without losing track of revenue changes. > [!NOTE] > **Note:** You cannot unsell an estimate if the estimate is already signed by the customer. --- ### #### Who uses this feature - Administrators and managers - Applies to all business types #### Feature configuration - The *Sell/unsell estimate* permission is required to use this feature. Please contact the account administrator on your team. ## Things to know - When you book an estimate on a job, there is no estimate on that new job to unsell it. The estimate must be on a job to unsell it. - You can see the *Unsell* option if the estimate has a job, opportunity, or authorization signature, and has no Converted estimate items. - If you cancel a job and you don't want the Sold estimate to be included in sales reporting, you can unsell it. - If you want to add more items to a sold estimate, and you want that new revenue included in sales numbers, you can unsell the estimate, add the items to the estimate, and resell it. ## Best practices when unselling an estimate When you unsell a sold estimate that has been signed, you create a new estimate and delete the original sold estimate. When you run sales reports, be aware that: - The creation date of the duplicate estimate is different from the creation date of the original estimate. - The **Estimate Created By** field of the duplicate estimate includes the name of the employee who created the duplicate, not the name of the original estimate creator. If a job is booked off of a sold estimate, you must remove the sold estimate tasks from the job invoice before you can unsell the estimate. ## Remove tasks from the job invoice If a sold estimate is booked into a job, before you can unsell it, first remove the sold estimate tasks from the job: 1. On the *Project* screen, find the job you want to remove items from and click the job number. > [!NOTE] > **Note:** If you're on the Estimate screen, click the job number to open the job. 2. On the *Job* screen, click the invoice number to open it. 3. In the *Tasks* section of the invoice, for all the items booked from the sold estimate, click **Delete**![](https://cdn.document360.io/961862ab-d0f2-4d91-bb62-a62ee8184eff/Images/Documentation/icon-close.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-31T00%3A42%3A37Z&se=2026-10-31T01%3A42%3A37Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=wETzN5cKrmOtt41cgkPFjR2rBV5APSswph%2B89%2FZmXWY%3D) . 4. In the confirmation pop-up that opens, click **OK**. 5. In the pop-up that opens, click **Yes**. This deletes the task on the sold estimate. > [!NOTE] > **Note:** If you select **No**, the item is removed from the invoice but the item on the estimate can't be booked into another job. Use this option to keep the estimate status as Sold for sales reporting purposes. 6. When finished deleting sold estimate tasks from the invoice, you can unsell the sold estimate if it's unsigned or signed. ## Unsell an unsigned sold estimate If the sold estimate is booked into a job, make sure to remove sold estimate tasks from the job invoice before you unsell it. 1. Go to the navigation bar and click **Follow Up**. 2. In the side menu, click **Sold Estimates**. ![User interface displaying sold estimates with a follow-up menu and business unit selection.](https://cdn.document360.io/961862ab-d0f2-4d91-bb62-a62ee8184eff/Images/Documentation/unsell-sold-estimates-image-1un4zlv7.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-31T00%3A42%3A37Z&se=2026-10-31T01%3A42%3A37Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=wETzN5cKrmOtt41cgkPFjR2rBV5APSswph%2B89%2FZmXWY%3D) 3. Find the sold estimate you want to unsell and click it to open. 4. Under the *Opportunity* field, click the opportunity number. ![Estimate for HVAC replacement showing job status, project number, and follow-up date.](https://cdn.document360.io/961862ab-d0f2-4d91-bb62-a62ee8184eff/Images/Documentation/unsell-sold-estimates-image-pjbwwg62.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-31T00%3A42%3A37Z&se=2026-10-31T01%3A42%3A37Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=wETzN5cKrmOtt41cgkPFjR2rBV5APSswph%2B89%2FZmXWY%3D) 5. Find the estimate you want to unsell, next to the *Status* field, click **unsell**. ![Opportunity follow-up details including job type, amount, and technician information.](https://cdn.document360.io/961862ab-d0f2-4d91-bb62-a62ee8184eff/Images/Documentation/unsell-sold-estimates-image-44yyrdhg.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-31T00%3A42%3A37Z&se=2026-10-31T01%3A42%3A37Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=wETzN5cKrmOtt41cgkPFjR2rBV5APSswph%2B89%2FZmXWY%3D) The estimate opens. The estimate status changes from *Sold* to *Open*. ## Unsell a signed sold estimate If the sold estimate is booked into a job, make sure to remove sold estimate tasks from the job invoice before you unsell it. > [!NOTE] > **Note:** If the estimate is signed, you can find it in the Audit Trail section of the job. 1. Go to the navigation bar and click **Follow Up**. 2. In the side menu, click **Sold Estimates**. 3. Find the sold estimate you want to unsell and click to open it. 4. Under the **Opportunity** field, click the **Opportunity Number**. 5. For the estimate you want to unsell, click **View Sold Estimate**. 6. At the top of the estimate, click **Duplicate** ![](https://cdn.document360.io/961862ab-d0f2-4d91-bb62-a62ee8184eff/Images/Documentation/icon-content-copy.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-31T00%3A42%3A37Z&se=2026-10-31T01%3A42%3A37Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=wETzN5cKrmOtt41cgkPFjR2rBV5APSswph%2B89%2FZmXWY%3D). After the confirmation pop-up, the duplicate estimate opens in *Open* status. > [!NOTE] > **Note:** The duplicate estimate does not copy Sold by credit from the original estimate. You can reassign Sold by credit when you resell the estimate from the Opportunity or the Estimate screen. 7. Under the **Invoice** field, click **Pending**. The invoice opens with both the sold and duplicate estimates listed in the *Estimates* section. 8. Click **Delete** ![](https://cdn.document360.io/961862ab-d0f2-4d91-bb62-a62ee8184eff/Images/Documentation/icon-close.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-31T00%3A42%3A37Z&se=2026-10-31T01%3A42%3A37Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=wETzN5cKrmOtt41cgkPFjR2rBV5APSswph%2B89%2FZmXWY%3D) for the sold estimate. After confirming, the sold estimate is removed from the invoice. The duplicate estimate is added to the same opportunity as the sold estimate. ## Want to learn more? - Visit ServiceTitan Academy to enroll in [Follow Up On Open Opportunities and Convert Estimates](https://servicetitan.docebosaas.com/academy/learn/courses/356/Follow-Up-Basics) - See [Look up estimates](/construction/docs/look-up-estimates) - See [Estimate workflows](/construction/docs/estimate-workflows-in-servicetitan-and-servicetitan-mobile) An estimate that is sold by a sales tech, a service, maintenance, or install tech, or a CSR (over the phone) and the estimate total is above the sold threshold. What this triggers in ServiceTitan The sold estimate appears on the Follow Up screen. CSRs will book the job and assign a tech to perform the work. [Learn more →](https://help.servicetitan.com/docs/understanding-estimates-vocab) · [See the full glossary →](https://help.servicetitan.com/docs/glossary-overview) A sales tech sells an estimate. -or- A service, maintenance, or install tech sells an estimate. -or- A CSR sells an estimate over the phone. Let's say the estimate total is below the sold threshold (the customer wants to schedule the work, but hasn't fully decided). [Learn more →](https://help.servicetitan.com/docs/understanding-estimates-vocab) · [See the full glossary →](https://help.servicetitan.com/docs/glossary-overview) A downloadable log of who changed what record and when. **What it does:** Provides change history for accountability, error investigation, and compliance across teams. **Also called:** Change history **Tags:** Core [See the full glossary →](https://help.servicetitan.com/docs/glossary-overview)